THE RHODODENDRON, CAMELLIA AND MAGNOLIA GROUP

Registered Charity Number 1161254



Patron: HRH The Prince of Wales

Minutes of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

held in the Drawing Room at Ramster Gardens, Petworth Road, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4SN

on Sunday 15th May 2022 at 1.45 pm

PRESENT:

Vice Chairman: David Millais, Trustee and Vice Chairman: Barry Cooke, Secretary: Polly Cooke, Membership Secretary: Philip Eastell, Yearbook Editor: Mary White, OGS co-ordinator: Nick Butler.

Russell Beeson, Sarah Bray, (Jeremy Bray), (Jackie Butler), Karin Cardiff, (Richard Cardiff), Tom Clarke, (Cora Clarke), Andy Fly, (Jenny Fly), Miranda Gunn, (Paul Gunn), Peter Gellatly, (Jean Gellatly), Barry Haseltine, Judy Hallett, (Andrew Hallett), Rosemary Legrand, Chris Loder, Brian Long, Sylvia McQuire, Emma Page, Ros Rawling, Lavinia Sealy, (Nicholas Sealy), Sian Thomas, Colin Tomlin, Rod White, Geoff Yates.

David Millais, Chairman of this meeting, apologised on behalf of Group Chairman Graham Mills who was not able to attend this meeting. David then welcomed everyone and opened the meeting.

1. Apologies, 39 received from:

Eric Annal*, Mary Ashworth, Frances Banham, Robert Bland*, Edward Bolitho, Keith Browning*, Ted Brabin*, Pat Bucknell, Chris Carnaghan*, Koen Camelbeke*, Judy Colman, Nigel Edwards, Elsa Elwine, Carole Fisher, Dick Fulcher, Jim Gardiner*, Rowan Griffiths*, Stephen Harding*, Pam Hayward*, Sally Hayward*, Geraldine King, Isobyl la Croix*, Lord Lansdowne*, Rama Lopez-Rivera, Steve Lyus*, Bob Mitchell, Alan Pettitt*, Lionel de Rothschild*, John Sanders*, Alastair Stevenson*, Jim Stephens*, Ivor Stokes*, John Swainson*, Mike Timberlake*, Joey Warren*, Andrea Whittaker*, Joe Whelan*, Charles Williams*, David Williams*, Tom Wood.

The 27 members marked * who sent apologies also completed an Absentee Voting Form, all were in favour of the agenda items 2, 5, 6, 7 and 8 and none against.

2. Minutes of the Last AGM:

The last AGM was held via Zoom on Saturday 8th May 2021 at 4pm. The minutes published on the website were unanimously agreed, to be a true record by those present, supported by 27 Absentee votes, there were no objections. The minutes were signed as a true record by the Chairman of the meeting.

3. Matters Arising:

There were no matters arising from the Minutes of the last AGM.

4. Chairman's Introduction and Review of 2021:

RCMG Chairman, Graham Mills, had prepared a Power Point presentation for 2021, which was displayed and narrated by David Millais.

This included the Treasurer's and Independent Examiner's Reports and covered reports from Membership, Events, Communications, Virtual Photographic Competition, Plant Committee, Outstanding Gardens Scheme, Yearbook Editor, Bulletin Editor, Archivist, Website and a Bursaries sub-Committee report by John Marston. Branches were included giving Branch Chairman's details as follows: International: Rama Lopez-Rivera, Ireland: Seamus O'Brien, New Forest: Rosemary Legrand, North Wales and Northwest: Ted Brabin, South East: Barry Haseltine, South West: John Marston, Wessex: Miranda Gunn, West Midlands: Ross Underwood.

NOTE: As given on the Agenda, the Trustees' Report is available online.

5. Election of Trustee:

Barry Cooke has volunteered to continue as a Trustee. Barry was proposed by Tom Clarke, seconded by Chris Loder and elected unanimously by those present, supported by 27 Absentee votes. There were no objections.

THE RHODODENDRON, CAMELLIA AND MAGNOLIA GROUP

AN HORTICULA AN SOCIETY GROUND

Registered Charity Number 1161254

Patron: HRH The Prince of Wales

 Election of Officers to the Management Committee: Advertising Officer: Philip Eastell was proposed by Emma Page, seconded by Andy Fly and elected unanimously by those present, supported by 27 Absentee votes. There were no objections.

Re-election of Officers for 2022-2023: Chairman: Graham Mills Vice Chairmen: David Millais and Barry Cooke Secretary: VACANCY Treasurer: Simon Toms Membership Secretary: Philip Eastell Bulletin Editor: Peter Furneaux Lead Yearbook Editor: Mary White Webmaster: Graham Mills Communications Officer: Mark Bobin Events Co-ordinator: Wendelin Morrison Plant Committee Chairman and Group Archivist: Pam Hayward Outstanding Gardens Scheme: Nick Butler The combined officers' re-election was proposed by Russell Beeson, seconded by Judy Hallett and all officers were elected unanimously by those present supported by 27 Absentee votes. There were no objections.

8. Election of Independent Examiner:

Jacky Havenga was proposed by Rosemary Legrand, seconded by Russell Beeson and elected unanimously by those present, supported by 27 Absentee votes. There were no objections.

- 9. Any Other Business (of which notice has been received) None.
- Venue and Date of the next AGM: The next AGM will be held at Ness Botanic Gardens: date and time to be confirmed.

The AGM concluded at 2.12 pm

David Millais announced that the recipient of the Chairman's Award 2021 was Barry Haseltine for his long service and valuable contributions.

The Centenary Cup was won by Andy and Jenny Fly and was presented to them by Colin Tomlin.

Miranda Gunn then gave a short talk about the History of Ramster Gardens.

David Millais presented Miranda Gunn with two rhododendrons to thank her for hosting the AGM at Ramster Gardens in its Centenary Year of her family's ownership.

As a thank you gift to our former Secretary, Polly Cooke, David Millais presented her with three Satsuki Azaleas. Polly thanked David and the assembled Group members.

The meeting concluded at 2.34pm.